LibGuides: Finding Legislation, Data, &amp; Statistics: Diseases & Conditions

HIV/AIDS

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

HIV/AIDS Statistics Center
CDC’s National HIV Surveillance System is the primary source for monitoring HIV trends in the United States. CDC funds and assists state and local health departments to collect the information.

United Nations (UN)

UNAIDS Data
UNAIDS leads the world’s most extensive data collection on HIV epidemiology, programme coverage and finance and publishes the most authoritative and up-to-date information on the HIV epidemic.

U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)

HIV & AIDS Resources
USAID provides current information on HIV and AIDS and Agency efforts to confront the global pandemic. Reports and publications are available for download.

American Cancer Society

Cancer Facts & Statistics
The American Cancer Society projects the numbers of new cancer cases and deaths expected each year in order to estimate the contemporary cancer burden, because cancer incidence and mortality data lag three to four years behind the current year.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

Cancer FastStats
This fact sheet lists statistics on morbidity, health care use, mortality, and links to more data.
Division of Cancer Prevention and Control: Cancer Data and Statistics
Includes links to online tools, statistics by demographic or cancer type, links to other relevant resources, and featured publications.
United States Cancer Statistics: Data Visualizations
Interactive data visualizations with official federal statistics on incidence and mortality from 2012-2016. Includes graphs, tables, and state data.
U.S. Cancer Statistics Tools and Data
Links to United States Cancer Statistics in CDC Wonder and State Cancer Profiles.

National Cancer Institute (National Institutes of Health)

Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER)
Best place to start for US cancer statistics. In-depth and comprehensive statistics on all cancers diagnosed in residents included in the SEER Program. Cancer stat fact sheets, state profiles, SEER Cancer Statistics Review (CSR), a report of the most recent cancer incidence, mortality, survival, prevalence, and lifetime risk statistics.
Cancer Statistics
Portal to statistical resources from the National Cancer Institute.
Cancer Trends Progress Report
Summarizes progress in the U.S. against cancer in relation to Healthy People 2010 targets set forth by the Department of Health and Human Services. The report includes key measures of progress along the cancer control continuum and uses national trend data to illustrate where advancements have been made.
NCI Annual Factbook
From the Office of Budget and Finance, a summary report of NCI fiscal year budgets. Also includes information on cancer statistics and historical trends.
State Cancer Profiles
Create charts, graphs and maps for the nation, state, and counties.
Surveillance Research Program
A list of reports and research tools to help you find cancer incidence statistics.

American Diabetes Association

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

Diabetes Data & Statistics
Fact Sheets and public health surveillance (disease tracking) on diabetes and its complications. Includes national, state, and county level information.
Diabetes FastStats
Quick statistics on diabetes with links to relevant tables from multiple publications and surveys.

International Diabetes Federation

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive & Kidney Diseases (National Institutes of Health)

Health Statistics
Estimates and general information about diabetes in the U.S. for children, adults, and select demographic groups.
Diabetes in America, 3rd Edition
This online book is a compilation and assessment of epidemiological, public health, and clinical data on diabetes and its complications in the United States.

World Health Organization (WHO)

Diabetes Facts & Figures
Fact sheets, world and regional prevalence estimates and projections.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

Mental Health Data & Publications
Links to relevant information from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System and the National Health Interview Survey.
Mental Health FastStats
Quick statistics and links to tables from relevant publications and studies. Also includes a section of related links.

National Institute of Mental Health (National Institutes of Health)

NIMH Statistics
This page provides links to relevant resources, science news about statistics, and publications about statistics.

Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

SAMHSA Data & Dissemination
The primary source of information on the prevalence, patterns, and consequences of alcohol, tobacco, and illegal drug use and abuse in the general U.S. civilian non institutionalized population, age 12 and older.

World Health Organization (WHO)

Mental Health Atlas 2017
The Mental Health Atlas series is considered the most comprehensive resource on global information on mental health and an important tool for developing and planning mental health services within countries and regions. The Mental Health Atlas 2017 acquires new importance as it includes information and data on the progress towards the achievement of objectives and targets of the Comprehensive Mental Health Action Plan 2013–2020.
Mental Health & Substance Abuse Policies & Laws