LibGuides: Social Work Resources: Databases & Journals

Sociology & Psychology Databases

APA PsycINFO PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
It is a resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
The Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes nearly 515 full text titles and over 490 peer-reviewed journals.
SocINDEX Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in sociology.
Provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.

SocINDEX covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Sociological Collection Database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
The Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.

Related & General Databases

Academic Search Complete Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Cochrane Library (College Students) Free version available to students. A collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Legal Collection Index, abstracts and full text of articles on law and legal topics.
A collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. This database is a source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Local Stats Local Stats is a data download and visualization tool hosting social science data about U.S. counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas from more than 100 different government and non government sources.
Local Stats is part of the Sage Stats application. It is a data download and visualization tool hosting social science data about U.S. counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas from more than 100 different government and non government sources. It spans topics like employment, crime, religion, and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text MEDLINE is a comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Newspaper Source Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
Newspaper Source provides full text for 185 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for 392 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
PubMed PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of preclinical and clinical disciplines. It is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version connects directly to Aultman's collections.
Data Planet A dynamic tool to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets from the United States. Compare and contrast variables of interest and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.
TOPICsearch Full text covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.
TOPICsearch is a current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for articles from magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, biographies, book reviews, public opinion polls, EBSCO's Current Issues database, and government information.
Web of Science Core Collection Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that indexes scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. It also contains cited references, as well as the number of times that each article has been cited.

Journals

Research Tutorials

Visit the links below for research tutorials: