LibGuides: English Research: Catalogs & Databases

NEOLINK Catalog

NEOLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Includes NEOMED's holdings and all affiliated hospital libraries' holdings (including Aultman).

Search NEOLINK, the local library catalog, by following the steps below:

Select your desired search option (keyword, title, author, call number, or ISBN).
1. To limit to books available at Aultman, click on Advanced Keyword Search and choose Aultman Hospital as your location.
Enter search terms and click submit.
Browse results until the desired title is located.
Click on the title.
Check "Location", "Call Number", and "Status".
1. NEOLINK's catalog includes other associated hospitals, so items located at other libraries may not be available to check out.
If the book is at Aultman, use the combination of the Location and Call Number to locate the book in the stacks.
If the book is located elsewhere or if you are off-site, request the item by clicking the Request button at the top of the page.
1. Provide your Last Name and Library ID and click submit.
2. Items coming from another location generally take a week to arrive.

OhioLINK Catalog

OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.

Search OhioLINK, a consortium of Ohio libraries, by following the below steps:

Select your desired search option (keyword, title, author, call number, or ISBN).
Enter search terms and click submit.
Browse results until the desired title is located.
Click on the title.
Check "Location", "Call Number", and "Status".
If the book is available, click the Request button in the Library Holdings box.
1. Select NEOMED as your institution
2. Provide Last Name and Library ID Number.
3. Select NEOMED as your Pickup Institution and Aultman as your Pickup Location.
4. Click Submit.
5. Items coming from another location generally take a week to arrive.

Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
Newspaper Source provides full text for 185 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for 392 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Historical dictionary of the English language.
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

The online OED corresponds to the Second Edition (20 volumes in print).
Points of View This link opens in a new window
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.
Points of View Reference Center is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications. The Points of View Debate Blog is a forum for students to express and exchange their unique views on topics in the news.

A-Z Databases
All databases available to Aultman patrons. Filter by subject.

Off-Campus Access

The Library uses a proxy server to provide you with off-campus access.

Getting access is as easy as entering your name and ID number when prompted to log in (same process as accessing your library account).

Aultman College students should use their student ID number.
All other Aultman personnel should use their employee number preceded by "AU."

When logging in to OhioLINK resources, select "Northeast Ohio Medical University" or "NEOMED" as your institution, and "Canton Aultman Hospital" as your branch.