Scholarship of Teaching & Learning

Citation tracking or analysis is used to discover how many times a particular article or author has been cited in other works. It can also be used to track citations of one's own work. It is often used to determine the impact or quality of a work, and can help you find related works that build upon, refute, or criticize other works.

Some caveats and things to remember include:

• No single database or citation index will include an author's or publication's complete works
• Citation indexes are most often based on selected journal literature and may have limited scope
• It's best to work from an author's complete list of publications (like a CV) for high accuracy (authors may use different names throughout their publications)
• The number of citations alone cannot solely determine the value or quality of a work

This guide from University of Southern California Libraries provides a detail overview the importance of citation tracking and its many caveats:

Scopus is a subscription-based abstract and citation database from Elsevier. Scopus Preview offers some functionalities of Scopus for free to non-subscribers:

• Scopus sources
• Author details
• CiteScore

Learn more about Scopus Preview and its functionalities here:

Get started with Scopus Preview here:

View Scopus video tutorials here:

Please note that the library does not have a Scopus subscription.

Certain EBSCO databases allow you to browse and search cited references. These functionalities appear slightly differently in each database that has them.

EBSCO databases that include searchable cited references available through the library:

• Academic Search Complete
• Academic Search Ultimate
• America: History and Life
• APA PsycInfo
• Business Source Complete
• Business Source Ultimate
• CINAHL Plus with Full Text
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
• Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
• Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
• Education Research Complete
• Fuente Academica
• Historical Abstracts
• Humanities International Complete
• LGBT Life
• Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
• Literary Reference Center Plus
• MLA International Bibliography
• SocINDEX

For instructions on browsing and searching cited references, see here:

For FAQs about browsing and searching cited references and a list of databases with these functionalities, see here:

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database provides searchable fields for finding a cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title. These fields can be found in the dropdown menu next to the search field. The References (REF) field can also be used to search all of these areas.

You may also see links to "cited" and "cited by" references when viewing an individual item record. These are located on the right hand side.

See here for a full list of searchable fields:

For more information on reference linking:

*Library no longer supports login access to Web of Science* (older accounts are still active)

Web of Science also includes the ability to perform a cited reference search. When viewing WoS Core Collection, simply select "Cited Reference Search" next to the basic and advanced search options to get started.

Clarivate Analytics provides a comprehensive guide to using this feature:

Google Scholar contains a very simple feature for viewing articles that cite a particular article. Beneath result in the list is a link that will take you to articles that have cited that particular result.

Visit this link for more information on searching in Google Scholar: