Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Basic Library Tutorials

Information on basic library use, like accessing catalogs and databases, and obtaining full-text articles.

About the Discovery Tool

What is the Discovery Tool?

  • The Discovery Tool is like an all-in-one database. It searches the NEOLINK and OhioLINK catalogs, resesarch databases, ejournals, and multimedia resources.

Why should I use the Discovery Tool?

  • When you're starting the initial steps of the research process and are exploring resources.
  • When you don't need a subject-specific database (like a nursing database).
  • If you have a citation, DOI, or title of a specific work you want to find, use the Discovery Tool for quick retrieval.

How do I use the Discovery Tool?

  • Getting started:
    • The Discovery tool is located onthe library’s homepage and in the A-Z database list. It works the same way as any EBSCOhost-provided database.
    • You can enter search terms directly into the search bar, or you can click on "Advanced Search" to see all search functions.
    • Note: You may be asked to authenticate (or log in) to this resource.
  • After you run a search:
    • You can scroll through the list of search results located in the middle of the page.
    • You have the option to limit your search using the limiters on the left-hand side of the page. Limiters include things like the publication date, the language, the type of source, the publisher, and more.

Video Demonstration

Please note that this is a generic tutorial from the vendor, EBSCO.

Video courtesy EBSCO Industries: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/EBSCO-Discovery-Service-Tutorial?language=en_US

Discovery Tool Features

See the video tutorials below for information on additional features of the Discovery Tool.

Video courtesy EBSCO Industries: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/EBSCO-Discovery-Service-Improving-Your-Search-Results-Tutorial?language=en_US

Video courtesy EBSCO Industries: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/Using-the-EBSCOhost-Search-History-Tutorial?language=en_US

 

Aultman Health Sciences Library

 

Aultman Education Center, C2-230, 2600 Sixth St SW, Canton, OH 44710  |  330-363-5000   |  healthsciences.library@aultman.com