LibGuides: Finding Legislation, Data, &amp; Statistics: Health Behaviors & Risks

Injuries & Occupational Health

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities
Produces a wide range of information about workplace injuries and illnesses. These data are collected and reported annually through the Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (SOII) and the Census of Fatal Occupational Injuries (CFOI).

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

Injury Data and Resources (NCHS)
Provides an overview of injury morbidity and mortality data and statistics available from the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and provides details on injury surveillance methodology and tools to assist in data analysis.
CDC WISQARS
An interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources.

Department of Energy

Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource
The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) electronic database comprised of health studies of DOE contract workers and environmental studies of areas surrounding DOE facilities.

National Institute for Occupational Safety & Health (NIOSH

NIOSH Data & Statistics Gateway
Data pertinent to worker safety and health research and surveillance.
The Work-Related Injury Statistics Query System (Work-RISQS)
An interactive query tool to obtain estimates for the number of nonfatal occupational injuries treated in U.S. hospital emergency departments (EDs).

Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)

OSHA Data & Statistics
Provides inspection data.

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission

National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS)
CPSC’s National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) is a national probability sample of hospitals in the U.S. and its territories. Patient information is collected from each NEISS hospital for every emergency visit involving an injury associated with consumer products. From this sample, the total number of product-related injuries treated in hospital emergency rooms nationwide can be estimated. This web access to NEISS allows certain estimates to be retrieved on-line.

Nutrition, Obesity, & Exercise

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

Adult Physical Activity Information
The purpose of this site is to describe the history of the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) adult physical activity questions and provide tools for identifying, accessing, and using NHIS physical activity data, collected since 1975.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
The nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, & Obesity: Data & Statistics
The latest statistics, surveillance systems, state indicator reports and maps related to obesity are provided.
Exercise or Physical Activity
Faststats from the CDC. Includes a list of relevant tables from Health, United States and links to related resources.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
This CDC survey is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. Weight is one of the indicators tracked in this survey. Navigate to the Survey Results and Products section for reports and tables.
Obesity & Overweight: FastStats
Faststats from the CDC provide quick links to relevant tables and resources.
Overweight and Obesity: Data and Statistics
Public health surveillance is the ongoing systematic collection, analysis, and interpretation of outcome-specific data for use in planning, interpretation, and evaluation of public health practice. The latest statistics, surveillance systems, state indicator reports and maps related to obesity are provided.
State Indicator Report on Fruits and Vegetables, 2018
Highlights approaches to increase the purchase, supply, and demand of fruits and vegetables in states and communities across the United States.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors six types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults

U.S. Department of Agriculture: Agriculture Research Service

National Data Laboratory
The Mission of the Nutrient Data Laboratory is "To develop authoritative food composition databases and state of the art methods to acquire, evaluate, compile and disseminate composition data on foods and dietary supplements available in the United States."
USDA Food Composition Databases
his Web site allows you to search the following USDA Food Composition Databases from one location: USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference Legacy Release, April 2018 and USDA Branded Food Products Database.

U.S. Department of Agriculture: Center for Nutrition Policy & Promotion

Healthy Eating Index (HEI)
The Healthy Eating Index (HEI) is a measure of diet quality used to assess how well a set of foods aligns with key recommendations of the Dietary Guidelines for Americans.
Nutrient Content of the US Food Supply Reports
The Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply is a historical data series, beginning in 1909, on the amounts of nutrients per capita per day in food available for consumption. An interactive version of this series allows users to query nutrient and pyramid servings information online.

Environmental Health

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

The National Environmental Public Health Tracking Program
A dynamic Web-based surveillance network used by state and local health officials to identify and mitigate environmental hazards impacting health in their communities.
National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)
Plans, directs, and coordinates a program to protect the American people from environmental hazards.
NCEH Data Resources
Provides a reference list of nationally funded data systems that have a relationship to environmental public health.
NCEH Publications & Products
Look here for reports containing statistical information.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

America's Children and the Environment (ACE)
EPA's report presenting data on children's environmental health. Brings together information from a variety of sources to provide national indicators and related information on the environment and children's health.
EnviroMapper
Provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. With Envirofacts, you can learn more about these environmental activities in your area or you can generate maps of environmental information.

Sexual & Reproductive Health

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

Adolescent and School Health: Sexual Risk Behaviors
This page from the CDC includes quick facts and links to relevant resources, such as the Youth Behavioral Risk Fact Surveillance Survey.
National Survey of Family Growth
Gathers information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men’s and women’s health.
Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS)
Collects state-specific data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. Data can be accessed through the PRAMS Data Portal, and researchers can also request the PRAMS Analytic Research File through the CDC.
Reproductive Health: Data & Statistics
Monitors maternal and infant mortality, the most serious reproductive health complications. In addition, attention is focused on gathering data to better understand the extent of maternal and infant morbidity, adverse behaviors during pregnancy, and long-term consequences of pregnancy.
Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STD) FastStats
Faststats from the NCHS includes links to relevant tables and related resources.
Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs): Data & Statistics
This page from the CDC's Division of Sexually Transmitted Diseases Prevention includes an annual surveillance report and related resources.

Guttmacher Institute

You can use Guttmacher's data to build custom graphs and maps sorted by world region, country, US State or US county.

Guttmacher Institute Data Center
Here you can use Guttmacher's data to build custom graphs and maps sorted by world region, country, US State or US county.
Guttmacher Institute Population Center
Here you can access public use datasets created by Guttmacher.

Kinsey Institute

Research in sex, gender, and reproduction.

FAQs & Sex Information
The Kinsey Institute fields a multitude of questions about sexuality, gender, reproduction, and other topics. Consult the topics below for answers, statistics, and resources to our most frequently asked questions.
Kinsey Institute Staff Publications
This list of articles, books, and book chapters represents the work of staff and researchers during their affiliation with the Kinsey Institute.

Substance Abuse

Bureau of Justice Statistics

Drug & Crime Facts
Summarizes U.S. statistics about drug-related crimes, law enforcement, courts, and corrections from Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) and non-BJS sources.

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

NIDA Trends & Statistics
Covers a variety of drug related issues, including information on drug usage, emergency room data, prevention and treatment programs, and other research findings.
Monitoring the Future
An ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of Americans from adolescence through adulthood.

Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

SAMHSA Data & Dissemination
The primary source of information on the prevalence, patterns, and consequences of alcohol, tobacco, and illegal drug use and abuse in the general U.S. civilian non institutionalized population, age 12 and older.

U.S. Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA)

DEA Data & Statistics
Covers drug labs in the US, domestic arrests, staffing, and FOIA.
Drug Facts
Fact sheets on a variety of common drugs.