LibGuides: Finding Legislation, Data, &amp; Statistics: The Health Care Field

Health Insurance & Costs

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Medical Expenditure Panel Survey
A nationally representative survey on the specific health services that Americans use, how frequently they use them, the cost of these services, and how they are paid for, as well as data on the cost, scope, and breadth of health insurance held by and available to U.S. workers. MEPS consist of four surveys and began in 1996.
HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project Data
Provides data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample and from the State Inpatient Databases. Users can generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the U.S.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

National Health Interview Survey
The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) is the principal source of information on the health of the civilian noninstitutionalized population of the United States and is one of the major data collection programs of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). Includes questions about access to care and insurance.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Data Compendium
The Data Compendium contains historic, current, and projected data on Medicare enrollment and Medicaid recipients, expenditures, and utilization. Data pertaining to budget, administrative and operating costs, individual income, financing, and health care providers and suppliers are also included. National data not specific to the Medicare or Medicaid programs may be found throughout the publications.
Medicare Enrollment Dashboard
Includes county data on hospital insurance, supplemental medical insurance, unduplicated count of persons enrolled in either or both parts of the program and Persons enrolled in both parts of the program.
Research, Statistics, Data & Systems
This page compiles multiple data collection and dissemination programs from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Look for the Statistics, Trends & Reports heading to view a complete list of publications.

Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy & Clinical Practice

The Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
The Atlas project focuses on how medical resources are distributed and used in the U.S.

State Health Access Data Assistance Center

Health Insurance Coverage Estimates
Includes publications and presentations that discuss public data. Provides a compilation of charts and tables from the Current Population Survey.

Urban Institute

Health Policy Center
This independent research institute has compiled reports and statistical tables (mostly from government sources) on the following topics: private insurance, uninsured, Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program, Medicare, disability and long-term care, and vulnerable populations.

U.S. Census Bureau

Health Insurance
This page provides an overview of Census programs that include data on health insurance with links to reports and data. These programs include the Current Population Survey, Survey of Income and Program Participation, Small Area Health Insurance Estimates, and Analysis of Survey Underestimation of Medicaid Enrollment.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project Data
Provides data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample and from the State Inpatient Databases. Users can generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the U.S.

American Hospital Association

Health Care: The Big Picture
The AHA website provides FastFacts, a TrendWatch Chartbook with trends affecting hospitals, and several other reports.

American Hospital Directory

American Hospital Directory
Provides limited information freely on key characteristics of individual hospitals and state and national totals.

Medicare.gov

Hospital Compare
Comparable data on quality of care at hospitals including measures for treatment of heart attack, heart failure, and pneumonia.

National Center for Health Statistics

Hospital Utilization FastStats
FastStats on hospital utilization provides direct links to relevant tables from NCHS surveys and publications.
National Hospital Care Survey
These reoccuring national surveys give provider-based data over a broad range of care settings and can be used to investigate quality, patient safety, health care disparities, diffusion of technologies, patterns of care for specific conditions, and other special topics.
National Hospital Discharge Survey
An annual survey that provides data on patient characteristics, diagnoses, and various forms of treatment
National Survey of Ambulatory Surgery
Provides characteristics of ambulatory surgery visits to both hospitals and freestanding ambulatory surgery centers such as patient demographics, source of payment, diagnoses, and procedures. Recent data collection efforts are now under the auspices of the National Hospital Ambulatory Medical Care Survey.

American Association of Colleges of Nursing

Fact Sheets
AACN produces a collection of fact sheets that provides data, resources, and educational material on a variety of topics. Fact sheets are updated and revised based on latest data and movement in nursing education.

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Occupational Employment Statistics
Wage estimates for occupations including the major groupings of Healthcare Practitioners and Technical Occupations and Healthcare Support Occupations.

Health Resources and Services Administration

Health Workforce Data
This entry page features recent studies and highlights, such as the National Sample Survey of Registered Nurses, from the HRSA National Center for Health Workforce Analysis.

World Health Organization (WHO)