LibGuides: Finding Legislation, Data, &amp; Statistics: Populations & Communities

Infants, Children, & Adolescents

Annie E. Casey Foundation

Kids Count Data Center
The Data Center includes health topics covering birth outcomes, health insurance, vital statistics, indicators by race and ethnicity, and more. Create tables, maps, graphs, or raw data by state or across states by topic.
Resources: Youth Reports and Statistics
Lists AEC Foundation publications. Filter by "KIDS COUNT" program area for specific resources.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

Infant Health FastStats
FastStats about infant health includes links to relevant statistical tables and publications as well as pointers to related studies and programs.
Child Health FastStats
FastStats about children's health includes links to relevant statistical tables and publications as well as pointers to related studies and programs.
Adolescent Health FastStats
FastStats about adolescent health includes links to relevant statistical tables and publications as well as pointers to related studies and programs.
Adolescent and School Health: Data & Statistics
The Division of Adolescent and School Health presents a summary of major surveillance activities and links to studies such as the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System, Global School-based Student Health Survey, Healthy Passages, School Health Profiles, and State-By-State Profiles.

Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative

The National Survey of Children's Health
The National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) provides rich data on multiple, intersecting aspects of children’s lives—including physical and mental health, access to quality health care, and the child’s family, neighborhood, school, and social context.
Prior Year NSCH and NS-CSHCN Data Documents and Resources
In-depth information on how to access archived NSCH data, survey methods, the full survey instrument, SAS and SPSS codebooks to assist with data analysis, and more.

Child Welfare Information Gateway

Statistics
Annotated list of links to reports, databases, and other resources that provide access to statistics on child and family well-being, child abuse and neglect, child welfare/foster care, adoption, and related topics.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

America's Children and the Environment (ACE)
EPA's report presenting data on children's environmental health. Brings together information from a variety of sources to provide national indicators and related information on the environment and children's health.

Federal Interagency Forum on Child & Family Statistics

Childstats.gov
Offers easy access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education.

UNICEF (United Nations Children's Fund)

UNICEF Data
Find statistical information about children by subject area (including child survival and health, child nutrition, maternal health, newborn care, HIV/AIDS, etc.) or by country.

Older Adults

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

Older Persons' Health FastStats
Basic statistics from CDC publications, links to more data and related resources.
The State of Aging in America: Data Briefs
This report assesses the health of the U.S. population age 65 and older and makes recommendations for improvement. Statistics on 15 key indicators covering health status, health behaviors, preventative care and screening, and injuries are available at the national, regional, or state level.

Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics

Agingstats.gov
Features a report titled Older Americans: Key Indicators of Well-Being, covering 38 key indicators at the national level. Also includes a Retirement Resources report, and a bibliography of Data Sources on Older Americans.

National Center for Health Statistics

Longitudinal Studies of Aging
"The Longitudinal Studies of Aging (LSOAs) is a collaborative project of National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and the National Institute on Aging (NIA). It is a multicohort study of persons 70 years of age and over designed primarily to measure changes in the health, functional status, living arrangements, and health services utilization of two cohorts of Americans as they move into and through the oldest ages."
National Home and Hospice Care Survey
The 2007 National Home and Hospice Care Survey (NHHCS) is one in a continuing series of nationally representative sample surveys of U.S. home health and hospice agencies. It is designed to provide descriptive information on home health and hospice agencies, their staffs, their services, and their patients. NHHCS was first conducted in 1992 and was repeated in 1993, 1994, 1996, 1998, and 2000, and most recently in 2007.
National Nursing Home Survey
"The National Nursing Home Survey (NNHS) is a continuing series of national sample surveys of nursing homes, their residents, and their staff. Although each of these surveys emphasized different topics, they all provided some common basic information about nursing homes, their residents, and their staff. All nursing homes included in this survey had at least three beds and were either certified (by Medicare or Medicaid) or had a state license to operate as a nursing home."

National Institute on Aging (National Institutes of Health)

Publicly Available Databases for Aging-Related Secondary Analyses in the Behavioral and Social Sciences
Publicly Available Databases for Aging-Related Secondary Analyses in the Behavioral and Social Sciences. Not updated since 2013.
Health & Retirement Study
Access to data for secondary analysis from this biannual survey of older Americans that "paints an emerging portrait of an aging America's physical and mental health, insurance coverage, financial status, family support systems, labor market status, and retirement planning." The report Growing Older in America: The Health and Retirement Study provides summary statistics.

U.S. Census Bureau

Age and Sex Data
Points to key census products and publications with statistics by age including special age groups: baby boomers, grandparents and the older population.

LGBTQ+

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

Sexual Orientation Information Statistics
Includes a list of reports and stand-alone tables released by the National Center for Health Statistics that use National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) sexual orientation data.

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (DHHS)

Annual Reports on LGBT Health
Created to highlight accomplishments across HHS and offer objectives for the following 12 months. Includes links to further reports.

People of Color

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

Life Stages & Populations FastStats
Includes a section on Race and Ethnicity.

Indian Health Service (DHHS)

Division of Program Statistics
Provides American Indian/Alaska Native demographic and patient care information. Mainly provides reports with statistical tables and charts discussing health trends and regional differences.

Office of Minority Health (DHHS)

Policy & Data
Statistics are accessible by minority group or health topic. Links to relevant reports from the Department of Health and Human Services, such as the National Healthcare Disparities Report.

Inter-University Consortium on Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

Resource Center for Minority Data
Data sets, surveys and collected information on specific questions intersecting minority community populations.

Women

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

Women's Health FastStats
Basic statistics from CDC publications, links to more data and related resources.
Reproductive Health FastStats
Basic statistics from CDC publications, links to more data and related resources.
Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS)
Collects state-specific data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. Data can be accessed through the PRAMS Data Portal, and researchers can also request the PRAMS Analytic Research File through the CDC.

Office on Women's Health (DHHS)

Health Information Gateway
Create custom tables at the state and county level using health indicators related to demographics, mortality, natality, reproductive health, violence, prevention, disease and mental health. View the Women's Health and Mortality Chartbook, which provides state profiles of women's health, and the Health Disparities Profile which also gives state level indicators.

Kaiser Family Foundation

Women's Health Policy
Collection of reports and fact sheets, many with statistical information.

State & Local Health

Resource for State, County, and Town

U.S. Census Bureau

United States Data Profiles
View statistics across a variety of topics for your state, county or town.

Resources by State

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics - Ohio Occupational Employment Statistics
These occupational employment and wage estimates are calculated with data collected from employers in all industry sectors in metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas in Ohio.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

Surveillance Information for State, Tribal, Local, and Territorial Public Health Professionals
The Surveillance Resource Center provides members of the public health surveillance community organized, easy access to guidance developed by CDC and its partners for improving the practice of surveillance. Public health surveillance refers to the collection, analysis, and use of data to target public health prevention. It is the foundation of public health practice.
State and Territorial Data FastStats
Basic statistics from CDC publications, links to more data and related resources.

Council of State Governments

Kaiser Family Foundation

State Health Facts
Tables available on demographics and the economy, health cost and budgets, health coverage and uninsured, health status, HIV/AIDS, managed care and health insurance, medicaid and CHIP, medicare, minority health, providers and service use and women's health. State comparison options available.

United Health Foundation

America's Health Rankings
State rankings are provided on selected areas and health outcomes. Rankings include (1) Community Involvement: Violent Crime, Occupational Fatalities, Infectious Disease, and Children in Poverty; (2) Public Health Policies: Lack of Health Insurance, Per Capita Public Health Spending, and Immunization Coverage; and (3) Clinical Care: Adequacy of Prenatal Care. Health Outcomes Rankings are in the following areas: (1) Poor Mental Health Days; (2) Poor Physical Health Days; (3) Infant Mortality; (4) Cardiovascular Deaths; (5) Cancer Deaths; and (6) Premature Death.
Website includes state snapshots, Nation at a Glance interactive map, and downloads of the complete book from 1999-present.

Resources by County

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

Community Health Status Indicators
Archived for historical use.

Key health indicators at the county level. Topics include demographics, summary measures of health, leading causes of death, measures of birth and death, relative health importance, vulnerable populations, environmental health, preventative services use, risk factors for premature death, and access to care.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and U of Wisconsin Population Health Institute

County Health Rankings
This web site provides access to the 50 state reports, ranking each county within the 50 states according to its health outcomes and the multiple health factors that determine a county’s health. Each county receives a summary rank for its health outcomes and health factors and also for the four different types of health factors: health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and the physical environment. Each county can also drill down to see specific county-level data (as well as state benchmarks) for the measures upon which the rankings are based.

Stark County (OH) Health Department

Canton, OH City public health website

International & Global Health

Kaiser Family Foundation

Global Health Policy
Provides statistical information on health indicators by country or topic. Topics include HIV/AIDS, TB, malaria, other diseases, conditions and risk indicators, programs, funding and financing, health workforce and capacity, demography and population, income and the economy.

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development

Health Data
This page provides an overview of OECD health data publications and projects. Access to many of these publications may require entry to the OECDiLibrary database through the MSU Library website.

World Bank

World Bank Open Data

World Health Organization (WHO)

WHO Global Health Observatory Data
World Health Statistics
"WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for WHO's 193 Member States."
WHO Fact Sheets
Overviews of a variety of health issues, diseases, and conditions.

United Nations (UN)

UNdata
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.

U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)

Reports and Data
DHS Program Data Center
Statistics tools and data sets from DHS surveys using STATcompiler, STATmapper,and HIVmapper. Free registration is required for access to some of the data.