LibGuides: Providers &amp; Employees: Nurses

Suggested Journals

Electronic journals available through the Library.

Nursing & Allied Health Journals @ Aultman
Visit this link to browse journal titles. Use the limiters in the left-hand sidebar to narrow the resource type and subject area.

Suggested journal titles:

Suggested Books

Browse books available by subject.

OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.

Suggested Databases

Nursing-specific databases available through the Library.

Cochrane Library (Personnel & Residents) This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Northeast Ohio Medical University. A collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Trip Database This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text of the literature of nursing and allied health.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that indexes scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. It also contains cited references, as well as the number of times that each article has been cited.

Medscape
Medscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools. After a simple, 1-time, free registration, Medscape from WebMD automatically delivers to you a personalized specialty site that best fits your registration profile.

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
A consumer health resource with over 800 diseases & conditions. The site is mirrored in Spanish and also contains drug & supplement information, a medical dictionary, and media tools such as images and videos.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of preclinical and clinical disciplines. It is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE.

This version connects directly to Aultman's collections.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 850 nursing, allied health, consumer health, complementary & alternative medicine titles. Majority of citations from 1960-present.

Websites of Interest

Organizations providing useful medical resources.

Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) The Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) is the accreditation body for certificate, diploma, and degree offerings tied closely to state examinations and licensing rules.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality; US Department of Health and Human Services
American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)
The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for America’s baccalaureate-and higher-degree nursing education.
American Association of Colleges of Nursing Accreditation (CCNE)
The American Association of Colleges of Nursing is an autonomous accrediting agency, contributing to the improvement of the public’s health.
American Association of Critical Care Nurses
American Association of Critical Care Nurses provides knowledge and resources needed to provide optimal care to critically ill patients.
American Heart Association
The American Heart Association
American Nurses Association - NursingWorld
American Nurses Association is the professional organization representing American nurses through state nursing organizations and affiliates.
Association of periOperative Registered Nurses
Association of periOperative Registered Nurses provides nursing education, standards, and clinical practice resources to nurses in order to promote optimal patient outcomes for patients undergoing surgery. Monthly peer reviewed journal, AORN Journal.
Emergency Nurses Association
The Emergency Nurses Association is an authority, advocate, lobbyist, and voice for emergency nursing. Publishes bi-monthly peer reviewed Journal of Emergency Nursing.
Harford Institute for Geriatric Nursing
Harford Institute for Geriatric Nursing is focused on quality healthcare for older adults.
Joint Commission
The Joint Commission accredits and certifies health care organizations and programs in the United States; sets and monitors quality and performance standards.
National institute of Mental Health
The National institute of Mental Health is a source for information and research on understanding and treating mental illnesses, with the goals of prevention, recovery, and cure.
National League for Nursing (NLN)
The National League for Nursing (NLN) promotes excellence in nursing education to build a strong and diverse nursing workforce to advance the health of our nation and the global community.
Ohio Board of Nursing
This is the Ohio Board of Nursing Home Page
Ohio League for Nursing (OLN)
The Ohio League for Nursing (OLN) is a constituent of the National League for Nursing (NLN).
Quality and Safety Nursing Education
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation is a philanthropy that works to identify and conduct research on health challenges in the United States, to improve health.
The Centers for Disease Control
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Drug Database
U.S. Food and Drug Administration approved drug database search; main FDA page includes information on drug safety alerts and recalls, new drug approvals, and regulations.
U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)
U.S. Preventative Services Task Force
U.S. Preventative Services Task Force improves health by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventative services such as, screenings, counseling, and preventative mediations.
World Health Organization
World Health Organization is a public health authority that directs and coordinates heath within the United Nations system

American Nephrology Nurses' Association - Homepage
About ANNAThe American Nephrology Nurses’ Association (ANNA) is the professional association that represents nurses who work in all areas of nephrology. ANNA develops and updates standards of clinical practice, educates practitioners, stimulates and supports research, disseminates knowledge and new ideas, promotes interdisciplinary communication and cooperation, and monitors and addresses issues encompassing the breadth of practice of nephrology nursing.
American Nephrology Nurses' Association - Library
Online Educational LibraryANNA's Online Library - www.annanurse.org/library - offers education at your fingertips. Please note that ANNA members receive many special offers and discounts in the Online Library. [If you are not an ANNA member, join now to take advantage of these valuable member benefits!] -- from ANNA website

Providers & Employees

Other Helpful Guides

Suggested Journals

Suggested Books

Suggested Databases

Websites of Interest